Obama in Missouri, GOP counters with rallies

A couple pieces in the Politico with a Missouri connection. First, President Obama comes to Macon, Missouri as the MRP and activists plan to rally in response. I know there were some students talking at MU about going, though I have no report on what turnout may have been like at any event. Democratic Senate candidate Robin Carnahan will accompany Obama when he visits a biofuel plan in Macon.

On a personal note, I’m looking forward to finals and graduation at the University of Missouri. As you can imagine, my schedule has come under increasing demands these last few weeks, and while it’s not a good excuse for not posting much during that time, it’s about the only one I’ve got!

While I’m at it, I might as well point anybody out there to this excellent column in the New York Times this morning, by Ross Douthat regarding South Park’s recent cave to political correctness when it comes to Islam. I don’t want to be rash, but but I’m considering calling it quits with South Park, for precisely the reason Douthat dissects in his piece.

SP has been one of my favorite shows for a while, in part because while it offends the sensibilities of just about any decent viewer at one time or another, it has generally matched the crudity its theatrics with the cleverness of its satirical story lines. Quite importantly, it has lampooned with equal ferocity sacred cows of both the left and the right, which is what has made it such an original on the media landscape.  It’s genuinely funny because it has taken on just about everything, including politically correct causes that you just don’t take on if you’re part of the mainstream entertainment industry.

If South Park is just going to be another raunchy comedy show, however, then I have no more interest in watching. If it’s no longer an original, no longer has the guts or artistic integrity, or whatever you want to call it, to engage in unabashed satire of that which the powers that be declare to be politically correct and thus off limits, then I’m done with it. It’s worthless at this point, if that’s what it’s going to become.

Like I said, I don’t mean to be rash. These are my unfettered emotions at around 3am in the morning, so we’ll see how I feel about it tomorrow:)

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment, General & Miscellaneous, Media

Leave a Reply

