Update on schools post

(I’ve added a comment to my last education-related post, which generated a great deal of readership and interest – including some real passion by folks involved. Thanks for sharing your views. But please remember, I’m not the bad guy, and I’m not glib when it comes to the situation faced by families in the KCMO district. Quite the opposite. I’ve met and worked with and fought for parents from urban schools who are struggling to help their children succeed amidst widespread challenges. I’ve tutored kids from the exact same background as many in the KCMO district, in several different settings. I’ve also invested time to study from a policy perspective some of the issues involved, including the work of serious academics who are devoting their lives to this issue. No, I don’t have 25 years teaching experience in the district – but that doesn’t mean I don’t have the right and responsibility to comment as a caring and informed citizen. Don’t think for a moment that I’m just shooting from the hip here. My post here speaks for itself, so please continue.)

Thanks very much for the comments. I may write another post on this topic given the interest the topic has generated. But let me say this right now. I was not – I repeat, was NOT – making a broad comparison between Pembroke Hill School and Central High School.

That was suggested by the KC Prime Buzz link headline, but it was not my headline and not the point of my piece. The thrust of my piece was that money alone can not solve low academic achievement, or address educational disparities.

Again, I was NOT making a broad comparison. We’re talking apples and oranges with those two schools, and everybody knows that, including myself. The tone in some of these comments has been quite harsh towards me personally, and frankly, almost sounds angry or resentful.

For what? Suggesting that spending millions on Olympic quality sports facilities isn’t the best way to help kids in the KCMO district? I even suggested at the end of my post that such monies could have been better invested in paying public school teachers more, among other things.

I NEVER said there are “easy solutions,” or suggested that we should give up on kids stuck in failing schools. Exactly the opposite, in fact.

One helpful point by a commenter was to look at Lincoln Prep. Indeed, that is a school that must be doing some things right. Surely there are lessons to be learned there.

Leave a comment

Filed under Education

Leave a Reply

